People for the Ethical **Treatment of Animals** 501 Front St. Norfolk, VA 23510 757-622-7382 PETA.org Circuses.com

Legislation Prohibiting or Restricting Animal Acts

The federal Animal Welfare Act (AWA), enforced by the U.S. Department of Agriculture, establishes only minimal standards for the care of certain species used in circuses and other exhibitions. The AWA does not prohibit the use of bullhooks, whips, electric prods, and other devices that cause pain and suffering. The AWA is poorly and inconsistently enforced, and no government agency monitors training sessions. Many state and local governments have enacted stricter laws to protect animals and the public. The following is a general guide on localities that have prohibited or restricted animal acts.

Localities That Have Banned Circuses, Rodeos, and Other Animal Acts binding resolution) California Florida Washington Encinitas Hollywood Quincy Port Townsend Pasadena Lauderdale Lakes Revere Redmond Rohnert Park Maryland Missouri Colorado Takoma Park Richmond Boulder Massachusetts New York Connecticut Greenburgh (public Braintree Stamford Provincetown (nonproperty) Localities Outside the United States That Have Banned Animal Acts <u>Argen</u>tina (prohibits the use of Kelowna dolphin and whale **Buenos Aires** wild animals in Langley swim programs) (prohibits circuses circuses) Malahide Finland with animals) Maple Ridge Nationwide Brazil Mont Royal Australia Nationwide Nanaimo City Greece Prohibits the use of (prohibits the use of Nanaimo regional Kalamaria wild or exotic marine mammals in district Patra

animals: Armsdale Perth Bavswater (prohibits animal acts on property owned by council) Cambridge Prohibits or restricts animal acts on property owned by council: Ferndale Kalamunda Lake Macquarie Mandurah Mosman Park Victoria Park Vincent

Austria Nationwide entertainment) Atibaia Avare Campinas Cotia Porto Alegre Rio de Janeiro São Leopoldo Sorocaba Ubatuba

Canada

Argyle Bridgewater Burlington Burnaby Chilliwack Coquitlam Digby Guelph Kamploops Kanata

New Westminster North Cowichan North Vancouver City Parksville Port Colbarne Saanich Salmon Arm Shelbourne St. Laurent Surrey Vancouver Victoria Yarmouth

Colombia Bogotá

Costa Rica Nationwide (also prohibits

Thessaloniki

India

Nationwide (prohibits the use of bears, monkeys, tigers, panthers, and lions)

Singapore

Nationwide

Sweden

Nationwide (prohibits most animals, including bears, big cats, monkeys, hippos, giraffes, and rhinos)

Localities That Have Banned Chemical, Manual, and Electrical Means of Making an Animal Perform (any method that causes an animal pain, discomfort, or suffering)

<u>Florida</u> Pompano Beach Tallahassee	Illinois Collinsville (avaludaa airauaaa)	<u>New York</u> Southampton	
Indiana Fort Wayne	(excludes circuses) <u>Kentucky</u> Jefferson County	<u>South Carolina</u> Aiken County	
Localities That Have	Banned Contact Between	the Public and Dangerou	s or Exotic Animals
<u>Arizona</u> Statewide <u>Delaware</u> Statewide	(prohibits allowing dangerous animals, including elephants, to run at large or be walked on a chain	massasauga rattlesnakes, mountain lions or mountain lion- hybrids, wolves or	big cats and bears under 25 pounds and less than three months old)
Florida Statewide (public contact is authorized only for elephants, carnivores under 40 pounds, apes over 6 months old and under 40 pounds, and gibbons and siamangs over 4	or rope) <u>Kentucky</u> Butler County Jefferson County <u>Maine</u> Statewide <u>Mississippi</u> Statewide <u>Missouri</u>	Nybrids, wolves of wolf-hybrids and black bears or black bear-hybrids) <u>New Hampshire</u> Statewide <u>New York</u> Wallkill (tigers, lions, and bears only)	Texas Wise County Virginia Statewide (dangerous reptiles and amphibians only) Fairfax County (excluding elephants) Falls Church Richmond Spotsylvania County
months old) <u>Georgia</u> Statewide <u>Illinois</u> Peoria Waukegan	Statewide (public contact is prohibited with copperheads, cottonmouths, timber rattlesnakes, pygmy rattlesnakes,	Pennsylvania Statewide (excluding chimpanzees and elephants) <u>Tennessee</u> Statewide (excludes	

Localities With Prohibitions on Specific Acts

Bear-Wrestling Alabama Arkansas California Connecticut Delaware Florida Georgia Illinois Iowa Kentucky Louisiana Massachusetts	Mississippi Missouri New Jersey New York Oklahoma Tennessee Washington Wisconsin Bloodless Bullfighting Florida Massachusetts	Bullfighting Argentina Chile Cuba Uruguay Catalonia, Spain (bans children under the age of 14 from attending)	Greased-Pig Contests Minnesota Rhode Island Greyhound Racing Idaho Maine Nevada North Carolina Vermont Virginia Washington
--	--	---	---

Miscellaneous Bans and/or Restrictions

<u>California</u>

Statewide (prohibits declawing of big cats) Corona (prohibits wild or exotic animal displays) Huntington Beach (prohibits performances of wild and exotic animals) Santa Ana (prohibits wild or exotic animal displays)

Hawaii

Maui County (prohibits the exhibition of captive cetaceans)

<u>Kansas</u>

Douglas County (prohibits acts with "dangerous exotic animals")

Kentucky

Louisville (prohibits keeping wild or vicious animals for display or for exhibition purposes; excludes animal acts such as circuses)

Massachusetts

Weymouth (prohibits public displays of nondomesticated animals)

<u>New York</u>

Southampton (prohibits the display of wild or exotic animals)

North Carolina

Chapel Hill (prohibits display of wild or exotic animals) Orange County (prohibits display of wild or exotic animals)

South Carolina

Statewide (prohibits the exhibition of marine animals) Aiken County (prohibits the permanent display of any vicious or wild animal; excludes zoos and traveling exhibits and acts)

<u>Texas</u>

Wise County (prohibits the breeding, buying, selling, trading, bartering, auctioning, or transferring of any wild animal)

<u>Vermont</u>

Burlington (prohibits public display of elephants, lions, tigers, bears or primates)

Wisconsin

Cedarburg (requires a criminal background check on circus employees) Madison (bans public displays of cougars and bears)

Localities With Restrictions on Rodeos

Alameda County, Calif., requires that rodeos give a two-week notice of their arrival and requires that a veterinarian be present during all rodeo events.

Baltimore County, Md., prohibits calf-roping.

Baltimore, Md., prohibits the use of spurs.

California prohibits the use of electric prods once the animal is in the holding chute.

California, Illinois, Maine, New Mexico, Oklahoma, Texas, and Clark County, Nev., prohibit horsetripping.

Florida and Texas prohibit hog-dog rodeos (i.e., baiting a dog onto a hog in an enclosure).

Fort Wayne, Ind.; San Francisco, Calif.; and St. Petersburg, Fla., have banned rodeos.

Montgomery, N.J., have banned the use of electric prods at the annual rodeo.

Napa County, Calif., has banned rodeos and condemns steer-tailing.

Pittsburgh, Pa., in effect, bans rodeos by prohibiting the use of electric prods, shocking devices, flank or bucking straps, wire tie-downs, sharpened or fixed spurs, and rowels in rodeos. The city also requires that rodeos give a two-week notice of their arrival and requires that a veterinarian be present during all rodeo events.

Rhode Island prohibits calf-roping.

St. Charles, III., prohibits the use of electric prods once the animal is in the holding chute and requires that a veterinarian be on call at rodeos.

Localities Outside the United States With Restrictions Affecting Rodeos

Bauru, Arealva, and Avai, Brazil, have banned electric prods, flank straps, and spurs.

Germany prohibits calf-roping.

Santo André, São Caetano, Franca, and Diadema in São Paulo, Brazil, prohibit rodeos.

The Netherlands has banned Rodeo USA.

The United Kingdom and the Australian Capital Territories prohibit rodeos.

Victoria, Australia, prohibits calf-roping and the roping of any animal weighing less than 200 kg.