Updated HeinOnline Comprehensive User’s Guide

HeinOnline recently updated their interface with a new organized page and look.  As such, Hein is offering an updated Comprehensive User's Guide. This guide provides the basics of how to navigate through the interface, how to search from the home page and within collections.  It also provides guidance on using the various tools available in HeinOnline.  To learn more about the changes and to access the guide, click here.

Ernster, the Virtual Library Cat

Heinonline: Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals Database Coverage Expansion

HeinOnline has recently expanded coverage of the Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals (IFLP) database to include the year 1984. This additional indexing has added 9,700 records including journal articles, collection articles and book reviews. IFLP can be searched by subject, country subject, region, and more.  To learn more about the enhancement and a refresher on how to search IFLP, click here.

Ernster, the Virtual Library Cat

State and Local Government Code Resources: Municode.com

Are you interested in a source that provides state and local codes for the fifty states?  Try Municode.com, this free sources provides 3,100 online codes covering various cities, counties, towns, villages across the United States. You can browse by state and the results can be easily viewed on desktop, tablet, and mobile.
To access Municode.com:

• Go to the Library's home page, click "Online Resources"
• Click the "State and Local Government"
• Scroll down to "Municode.com"

Ernster, the Virtual Library Cat

HeinOnline New Interface

HeinOnline recently launched a new interface with a simplified and streamlined design.  The new interface uses responsive web design so Hein can easily be accessed on your phone, tablet or PC. The search bar will be available on all pages, there is an updated image toolbar, the category options will be collapsible and more.  To learn about the new changes click here, to search on the new HeinOnline, click here.

Ernster, the Virtual Library Cat

ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Newsday

Summer is a good time to become familiar with a database that may be useful for legislative history or other research in the future, but can also be explored just for fun or personal browsing. Through Axinn Library, all Hofstra law students have access to ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Newsday, with coverage from 1940 to 1986.  Here you can search for full-text PDF articles, with images, from the Newsday archive with its unique Long Island perspective on local, regional, and national events.  For example, these years include the beginnings of Hofstra Law School and its first students and faculty in the 1970's.  If your relatives lived in the Long Island area anytime during the 20th century, you might also want to do an "Obituaries" search for family names, or search the name of a town or school during a particular time period.

To access this database, begin at the Hofstra Libraries web page, click on "Databases," and select "Newspapers" from the subject category menu.  You will need to log in to the Hofstra portal to continue to the list of Newspaper databases, including "Newsday Archive."    

Ernster, the Virtual Library Cat

Research Resources: ERISA Litigation Tracker (BNA)

If you are interested in a source that provides significant ERISA cases as they are being litigated then check the BNA ERISA Litigation Tracker.  This source also provides alerts and full text of court filings such as complaints, briefs, motions, settlements, and decisions. The ERISA Litigation Tracker also provides litigation news as well as a feed of the latest firm mergers and attorney moves in ERISA litigation.

To access the ERISA Litigation Tracker (BNA):

• Go to the Library's home page, click "Online Resources"
• Click the "BNA" link, click on the tab "Alphabetical List of Products"
• Scroll down to "ERISA Litigation Tracker  (BNA)"

Ernster, the Virtual Library Cat

Lexis Advance Tips: How to locate today’s edition of the New York Times or the Wall Street Journal

This is a great tip especially since many faculty and students often want an article published the same day.   If you are trying to locate today's edition in Lexis Advance, try the following tip: 

Type: New York Times in the search box and choose the blue Get Documents link.  Results will automatically be displayed with today’s date first.  Click the Clock icon to Create an Alert.

Want to limit your terms to just the Headline?  Type headline, remember to choose More Categories then select News and Sort By Date.

(Hat tip: Antoinette Stafilas, Esq., Lexis Law school Executive).  To access Lexis Advance, click here. 

Ernster, the Virtual Library Cat

Lexis Advance Tips: How to search Dockets on Lexis

This is another question that we often get at the Reference desk since dockets are popular sources for faculty, students and attorneys.  If you are trying to locate dockets in Lexis Advance, try the following tip:

Search for docket information by a specific judge using the Litigation Profile Suite.  Here, you can select either Expert Witness, Judge or Attorney.  For example, select Judge from the left drag down, type in Posner and select Richard Posner, Search and then select Dockets from the left navigation panel.  You’ll then see his docket information, including graphs and charts.  You can also use this with an Attorney search.The other way to search for docket information is through Lexis Advance Directly.  You can select Dockets as its own filter by Category.  In Research, choose Filters, then Category, then Docket.  You can also search all content, then narrow by Category after you do a search.  Further refine your search with post filters on the left, by Jurisdiction, Cause, Case Status, etc.

(Hat tip: Antoinette Stafilas, Esq., Lexis Law school Executive)
To access Lexis Advance, click here. 

Ernster, the Virtual Library Cat

Lexis Advance Tips: How to locate New York Law Journal (NYLJ) Cases on Lexis Advance

This is a question that we often get at the Reference desk since NYLJ is a popular source for faculty, students and attorneys.  If you are trying to locate NYLJ cases in Lexis Advance, try the following tip:

Type: NYLJ in the search box, choose Cases from NYLJ (ALM) from 1989 to set as a filter and run a search or choose the blue Get Documents link to automatically display results with today’s date first.  After running a search fill in the star Icon under the Narrow By Filters on the left side of the page to make a Favorite.

(Hat tip: Antoinette Stafilas, Esq., Lexis Law school Executive)
To access Lexis click here.

Ernster, the Virtual Library Cat